Skip to main content

Past Recipients Wilma Crockett Award

Heather Johnson (2023)
Heather Johnson, who passed away this spring, was director of programs with The Kidney Foundation of Canada - BC & Yukon Branch. Heather served in this position for 15+ years and made many remarkable and lasting contributions to improve the lives of people living with kidney disease.

Heather’s legacy with the BC Renal network was energetically sharing her knowledge and expertise with a number of provincial committees, working groups and initiatives. These include the Kidney Care, Glomerulonephritis (GN), Home Hemodialysis, Peritoneal Dialysis, Palliative Care, BC Kidney Days Planning and Patient and Family Engagement committees, as well as the Social Workers Professional Practice Council, Kidney Health Month and more.

Karen Shalansky (2020)
Karen Shalansky, pharmacotherapeutic specialist in Nephrology at Vancouver General Hospital and clinical professor at the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, UBC. Karen won 10 provincial and national awards for her nephrology-related research and has contributed to the scientific literature with over 50 peer-reviewed publications. Karen has been the programs chair and secretary for the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists (CSHP) BC branch and was co-chair of the Renal Pharmacists Network from 2009-10. She has also served as a member of the BC Renal Pharmacy and  Formulary committee, and has contributed to the implementation and revision of several BCR guidelines. 

Dr. David Landsberg (2019)
Thirty-five years ago, as a young, passionate transplant nephrologist working in Toronto, David was invited to move to Vancouver to lead the creation of the kidney transplant program at St. Paul’s Hospital. This move was the start of a nationally recognized, province-wide program that has seen over 3,500 people with end-stage kidney disease receive life-saving transplants. David has taught over 300 medical students and residents and has been a role model for 25 transplant nephrologists who are now providing care to patients locally and around the world.

Dave Morrison (2018)

A clinical nurse leader on the In Centre Hemodialysis Unit at St Paul’s Hospital, Dave began his career in Saskatchewan as an ICU nurse, eventually moving to Saudi Arabia, where he found his passion as a hemodialysis nurse. Dave has worked in the renal program at Providence Healthcare for over 25 years, demonstrating a deep commitment to the organization, its mission and values. Dave’s contribution and legacy in the field of kidney disease is vast:he has supported and mentored countless staff and future leaders in a variety of disciplines, and shared his knowledge, skills and expertise, across an array of programs and initiatives provincially and within PHC.

Dr. Colin White (2017)

Dr. Mohamud Karim (2016)
Mohamud graduated from UBC, where he also trained in internal medicine and nephrology. He was on staff at the Vancouver General Hospital as the director of the hemodialysis unit from 1992 to 1996, after which he moved to Kenya and Tanzania. While in Africa, Mohamud was director of the casualty department at Nairobi’s Aga Khan Hospital and co-founder of the Regency Medical Centre, the first private imaging, laboratory and outpatient service in the country. He returned to BC in 2000 to Fraser Health; Mohamud was the medical director of the Fraser Health Authority renal program from 2002 to 2011 where he oversaw the expansion of the hemodialysis units at the Royal Columbian, Surrey Memorial and Abbotsford hospitals, in addition to the expansion of the Community Dialysis, CKD and PD programs.

Rick Luscombe (2015)

Rick Luscombe is the vascular access clinical nurse leader (CNL) at Providence Health Care. Rick worked for 30 years in nephrology nursing with 28 of those years working in hemodialysis and the most recent 13 as vascular access CNL. Rick co-founded the Vascular Educators Group of BC and was the president of the Canadian Association Nephrology Nurses and Technologists (CANNT) in 2010. In 2013, Rick was awarded the Excellence in Nursing Education Award from the Canadian Registered Nurses of British Columbia and in 2014, received the CANNT award for excellence in leadership and administration. 

Ruth McCarrell (2014)
Pre-Transplant Clinical Nurse Leader, Kidney Transplant Program at St. Paul's Hospital, Ruth has been credited as being instrumental in the success of the kidney transplant program at St. Paul’s. Ruth has worked tirelessly on the paired exchange program, breaking down barriers and maximizing efficiency. Through her efforts more than 60 pairs have been transplanted at the hospital, double the number of the next highest program in the country.

Dr. Dan Martinusen (2013)
Renal pharmacist, Dan was nominated four separate times for his significant contributions to renal care in BC over more than a decade.  Through the BC Renal Agency, he has led a number of significant provincial pharmacy initiatives, including the development of an anemia management protocol that resulted in significant medication cost savings for the province. He was also the driving force behind the provincial roll-out of medication reconciliation for all kidney patients in BC, an initiative that has received numerous awards and recognition.

Dr. Alex Magill (2012)
Renal pathologist at St. Paul's Hospital, Dr. Magill has had an ongoing impact on the care of kidney patients in the province of BC since 1977, contributing his exceptional knowledge of renal pathology to guide day-to-day therapy choices of his nephrology colleagues while they treat their CKD and transplant patients.

Dr. Gerry Karr (2011)
Medical director of kidney services for Interior Health. His warmth, generosity and dedication to patient advocacy were all key factors highlighted in his nomination. Through his adherence to the highest standards of patient care and a commitment to team building, Dr. Karr has established a superior level of excellence within the BC renal program.

Anne Gloster (2010)
Director of renal services for Vancouver Island Health, received nine separate nominations, one from the entire renal team at the Royal Jubilee Hospital in Victoria, all praising her uncompromising commitment to patient safety and well being during her 12 years with the program.

Dr. Victor Chan (2009)
Dr. Chan's support for peritoneal dialysis has not wavered since the 1960s. A leader and innovator, he has performed more bedside catheter insertions than any other physician in Canada.

Debbie Eggers (2008)
A vascular access coordinator for Interior Health and a champion of quality renal care.

Lai-Lin Harvalias (2007)
Has worked tirelessly over three decades to promote renal nutrition regionally, provincially and nationally.

Dr. David Lirenman (2006) 
Was a pioneer and leader in the development of pediatric nephrology in BC.

Dr. John Price (2005)
BC's first nephrologist and a leader in the development of the province's kidney care services.

Dr. Angus Rae (2004)
An outstanding clinician, scholar and teacher who epitomizes life-long learning. Now retired, Dr. Rae was the founding head of the Division of Nephrology at St Paul’s Hospital.

SOURCE: Past Recipients Wilma Crockett Award ( )
Page printed: . Unofficial document if printed. Please refer to SOURCE for latest information.

Copyright © BC Renal. All Rights Reserved.

    Copyright © 2024 Provincial Health Services Authority